Sunday, December 6, 2009

Audio Samples of Yngwie Malmsteen’s High Impact Album Available

Swedish guitar legend Yngwie Malmsteen is set to release his new album, High Impact, on December 8 (one day earlier internationally). The new release has been described as “a mind-boggling, high-paced compilation record” that features a “surprise” bonus track: a previously unreleased interpretation of Michael Jackson’s “Beat It.” The cover features Malmsteen’s magical touch as well as the vocals of ex-Judas Priest/Iced Earth frontman Tim “Ripper” Owens.

The track listing for High Impact is as follows:

01. Caprici Di Dablo
02. Brothers
03. Blitzkrieg
04. Trilogy Suite
05. Red House
06. Finale
07. Magic City
08. Arpeggios from Hell
09. Far Beyond the Sun
10. Cantabile
11. Blue
12. Overture 1622
13. Fugue
14. Beat It

Audio samples of all songs on the album can be streamed at Malmsteen’s official website.

Malmsteen enthusiasts will be pleased to learn that Rising Force Records has started releasing rare archival footage of the guitarist. The first release was made available on October 13, 2009 and features Malmsteen in Korea. The raw footage was originally shot by the Korean media.

Last March, Malmsteen released Angels of Love – an instrumental acoustic album that contained rearrangements of his ballads performed on an acoustic guitar and featuring string and choir arrangements. That same month, Malmsteen also released two DVDs via Rising Force Records: Live Animal and Live in Budokan.

Malmsteen’s previous full-length studio album, 2008’s Perpetual Flame, was the first of the guitarist’s efforts to be issued via Rising Force Records. The album also marked the debut of his new vocalist, Tim “Ripper” Owens.

No comments: