Wednesday, December 16, 2009

Live Debut for New Fear Factory Lineup

On December 4, a revamped Fear Factory made its live debut at Espaço Lux in São Bernardo do Campo, São Paulo, Brazil. The "new" Fear Factory features original members Burton C. Bell (vocals), Dino Cazares (guitar) alongside bassist Byron Stroud (who, in addition to being credited on the last two Fear Factory albums, toured and recorded with Zimmers Hole and Strapping Young Lad) and the legendary drummer Gene Hoglan (Death, Dark Angel, Dethklok, Testament, Strapping Young Lad).

The band will play a handful of dates in Chile, Argentina, Colombia, and Mexico later in the month. In addition, they will embark on a four-date U.K. tour in February. The dates are as follows:

Feb. 16 - Manchester, UK @ Academy 2
Feb. 17 - Wolverhampton, UK @ Wulfrun Hall
Feb. 18 - Glasgow, UK @ Garage
Feb. 19 - London, UK @ Camden Electric Ballroom

Fear Factory's new album, Mechanize, is scheduled to be released in Europe on February 5, 2010 and on February 9, 2010 in the U.S. via Candlelight Records. The album was co-produced by the band with Rhys Fulber (Paradise Lost, Front Line Assembly) and was mixed by Greg Reely (Paradise Lost, Front Line Assembly, Skinny Puppy).

The following is the track listing for Mechanize:

01. Mechanize
02. Industrial Discipline
03. Fear Campaign
04. Powershifter
05. Christploitation
06. Oxidizer
07. Controlled Demolition
08. Designing The Enemy
09. Metallic Division
10. Final Exit

Referencing the album's lyrical approach, Burton C. Bell stated, "In the past, the lyrical concept was of a futuristic, 'sci-fi' nature. An attempt to protect the ideas and logic of those involved in Fear Factory; because those who incite progressive thought are always chastised and persecuted. By placing the 'story' into a futuristic, fictional narrative, the words and ideas may not have seemed threatening. Not so for Mechanize. These are the words of a reality that once seemed distant, that are now apparently, and evidently real. These are the words of the world in which we live; for what once seemed like a story of another time, has come to be our reality today. Welcome to the world of Mechanize."

Regarding the musical direction of Mechanize, Bell told Sergio Alvite (of Mexico's Search and Destroy, "It has the raw aggression of what Soul of a New Machine [1992] was but it has- I would say it has the maturity of Obsolete [1998]. When I say 'maturity,' I mean that it has the songwriting skills that Soul of a New Machine did not have whereas Obsolete did."

Below is a video from the live performance in Brazil on December 4:

No comments: