Saturday, January 9, 2010

Details Revealed for New Satriani Release

World renowned instrumental guitarist Joe Satriani has announced the release of a new live two-disc CD and DVD combo. Recorded on May 27, 2008 at Le Grand Rex Theatre in Paris, France, Live in Paris: I Just Wanna Rock is set to be released on February 2, 2010 through Epic Records.

The new recording features live performances of memorable songs such as "Flying in a Blue Dream" and "Surfing with the Alien" as well as more recent tracks such as "I Just Wanna Rock" and "Super Colossal." A fifteen-time Grammy nominee, the quality of Satriani's performance is unquestionable. In addition, masterful editing and incredible stage lighting makes the live DVD a pleasure to watch. The DVD also includes an interview with the guitarist as well as exclusive behind-the-scenes footage.

2010 finds Satriani on the road with the Experience Hendrix tour. He joins fellow artists Eric Johnson, Kenny Wayne Shepherd, Billy Cox, Jonny Lang, Sacred Steel, Ernie Isley, Robert Randolph, Living Colour, Chris Layton, Brad Whitford, Hubert Sumlin, and Doyle Bramhall II. A full U.S. tour is set to kick off on March 4 in Santa Barbara, California.

Satriani remarked, "I finally get to pay tribute to my hero the right way, on stage with an amazing, once in a lifetime, line up of musicians!"

The legendary guitarist has spent the last two decades travelling the world, playing to sold-out crowds as both a headliner and as a founder of the all-star G3 music show. He has released a total of fourteen solo albums to date, two of which went platinum while four went gold. In 2009, Satriani teamed up with frontman Sammy Hagar and bassist Michael Anthony (both Van Halen alumni) as well as Red Hot Chili Peppers drummer Chad Smith to form the rock collaboration Chickenfoot. The group's self-titled debut album, which totalled over 500,000 in album shipments, has since been certified gold by the RIAA.

The track listing for Live in Paris: I Just Wanna Rock is as follows:

Disc 1:

01. I Just Wanna Rock
02. Overdriver
03. Satch Boogie
04. Ice 9
05. Diddle-Y-A-Doo-Dat
06. Flying In A Blue Dream
07. Ghosts
08. Revelation
09. Super Colossal
10. One Big Rush
11. Musterion

Disc 2:

12. Out of the Sunrise
13. Time Machine
14. Cool # 9
15. Andulasia
16. Bass Solo
17. Cryin'
18. Mystical Potato Head, Groove Thing
19. Always with Me, Always with You
20. Surfing with the Alien
21. Crowd Chant
22. Summer Song

No comments: